Kids Interior Design Ideas

Looking for unique ideas on how to decorate & add some life to your kids bedrooms then look no further. Yes bedrooms are intended for sleep & that’s their main purpose, but I enjoy decorating my kids rooms & adding a little bit of flair to the space that they catch all their zzzzs in. Check out the furniture I’ve breathed new life into & be inspired!

This is a dresser I picked up from a seniors home. I painted it with Van Gogh Fossil Paint. The gray is one of my favorites named Chivalry, the light blue is called Mama’s Boy & the navy blue is called Starry Night. My son has a fishing/hunting theme in his room so I put what looks like a simple mountain on the sides of the dresser, which turned out simply amazing. The oars were made by my husbands grandfather & are painted in the same Chivalry & Starry Night along with Gin Soaked Guacamole Green by Van Gogh Fossil Paint.

This rocking chair is also in my sons room & was actually made by my husbands grandfather. It was given to me painted in a basic white & I decided to liven it up with bright colors. The inside piece to the backrest when looking at it reminded me of The Cat in The Hat so I went with a Dr. Seuss theme on this project. It doesn’t quite correlate with the hunting & fishing theme as I painted it when my son was quite young, but I just love it too much to change it up. The paint used for this piece was actually just acrylic paint I picked up from the dollar store. It was all hand painted & a bit tedious, but something to treasure as my son grows up The antler coat hanger was made by my father-in-law & suits the hunting & fishing theme in my sons room perfectly!

In my daughters room I painted this antique dresser in Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint in Arabesque & Farmhouse White. I waxed the dresser with a mix of beeswax & antique wax to get the press on the drawers to stand out. The handles are original to the piece giving it that authentic character. The antique farm chair in the photo is painted with Van Gogh Fossil Paint in a bright white called Halo & the quilt I have to give my mom credit for as she sewed this for my daughter when she was a baby.

This rocking chair pictured was my mother in laws chair from when she was a little girl that has been passed down to my daughter. I painted this chair with Van Gogh Fossil Paint. The brown is called Balsamic, the light blue is called Chloe Blue & the pink is called Compassion. I stenciled the Bible verse on & there’s an owl that I hand painted to go along with the owl theme in her room. The little cradle is another piece that sits in my daughters room. It’s usually overflowing with stuffed animals & dolls & was actually the second piece of furniture I ever painted with chalk paint. I painted this piece first with Chivalry gray from the Van Gogh line & then put the color First Kiss again by the Van Gogh line on top. I distressed back in spots on the piece to give it a bit of a worn & aged look. It’s definitely one of my favorite pieces in my daughters room & super functional for storage for her many many stuffies.


Send me a message or post a comment about your favorite piece in this post or even better if any of you readers out there have created fun & inspirational projects for your kidlets please share!

Leave a comment